Posted in Uncategorized

How to Get More Help and Housework from Hubby

Admit it! We’ve all been there where we wonder “why am I doing everything?” Well Laura Doyle, author of “The Surrendered Wife” has a solution to your problems.

Dear Laura,
I am the only breadwinner at my house. I desperately want to respect my husband, but I have a VERY hard time not resenting that I have to work to earn all the money and that I end up doing all the housework too. He watches the children, which is a lot, but every so often I get exhausted and lose it. How can I get my husband to clean up more so I don’t get so stressed?
– Pooped Professional

Dear Pooped,
I remember how stressful it was when I was the only breadwinner at our house. At the time, I was so “helpful” with pointing out things he hadn’t done (while overlooking the things that he had) that my husband, John, felt he couldn’t do anything right. As a result, he barely did anything, which made him feel useless and depressed. And it made me crazy because I felt lonely and overwhelmed with all the responsibility.
Everybody was miserable–and no wonder. Neither of us was playing to our strengths.

Like all husbands, my husband wants to make me happy. But I was so controlling he saw no opportunity to please me or take care of me. I forgot to acknowledge my feminine spirit by saying, “I can’t” when I was overwhelmed. Instead, I’d suck up my resentment as long as I could and then blow my lid in a very undignified way every so often.

Continue Reading…

About Laura:

Over a decade ago, the press said that New York Times best-selling author and relationship expert Laura Doyle was starting “a movement–the genuine kind, the kind with social implications, the kind that change us forever.” Today the social revolution Laura started has spread through over 15 languages to 26 countries as women of all ages have discovered her extraordinary tools for creating intimate, passionate, peaceful relationships.

You’ve seen Laura on The CBS Evening News, Dateline NBC, The Today Show, Fox, BET, The Early Show and The View, and in The Wall Street Journal, The New York Times, The Los Angeles Times, The Washington Post, The London Telegraph, People Magazine, Time Magazine and Newsweek. Her methods of transforming unhappy marriages into passionate unions and helping single women attract the love that had previously eluded them are legendary.

As one of the top relationship experts and speakers in the world, her authentic, powerful, and personal presentations inspire and make a difference not just to her audiences but also to their loved ones. In her popular workshops and life-changing retreats she reveals poignant experiences from her own 22-year marriage. The Los Angeles Times writes that wives who adopt her method “swear by its effectiveness in relieving marital discord and their inability to cope with the pressures of trying to be superwomen.” World-renowned relationship expert Dr. John Gray enthusiastically endorses Laura’s work as “practical and valuable.”

Laura lives near Los Angeles, with her hilarious husband, John Doyle, who has been dressing himself since before she was born. Currently, she is writing her fourth book, developing media projects in the U.S. and Europe, and expanding her training organization for women who teach her methods worldwide.

One thought on “How to Get More Help and Housework from Hubby

  1. Excellent post. I used to be checking constantly this weblog and I am inspired! Extremely useful info specifically the final section 🙂 I maintain such information a lot. I used to be seeking this particular information for a very lengthy time. Thanks and good luck.

Leave a Reply

