Posted in Marriage

Two Classes, Divided by ‘I Do’

The NYT did an interesting article on The Connection Between Education and Marriage. As a wife who graduated from college with a Masters I believe that marriage builds a strong foundation financially, spiritually, psychologically and physically.  As a woman who decided to have a child in her 30’s I chose to wait because I wanted to be able to financially support my child and also to have experienced my 20s as well as get my education under my belt.  I was not “privileged” so I had to work full time and go to school full time.  This is not to say that going to school as a mom is not feasible because my mom did it with two daughters and no husband.

Faulkner completed her degree from a four-year university, whereas Schairer only completed high school and a degree from a community college. It’s been shown that “less-educated women like Ms. Schairer, who left college without finishing her degree, are growing less likely to marry at all, raising children on pinched paychecks that come in ones, not twos,” the New York Times reports.

“Needless to say, it would seem as though the cycle of education, marital status and family structure is a continuous one. Andrew Cherlin, a sociologist at Johns Hopkins University believes, “It is the privileged Americans who are marrying, and marrying helps them stay privileged.”

View the complete article from The New York Times.

Leave a Reply

